When Life Gives You Lemons: Make Lemon Cakes

Here we go: my post for March… only just. I didn’t want to ruin my monthly streak without a post, but I’ve just struggled for time more so this month than usual. Since February, I’ve self-published my own book (!!!), completed a big creative critical piece on Freud, learnt some British Sign Language and have had my last ever seminar of my degree. Things are getting scary, and it’s time to join the adult world!

With the weather being so beautiful recently, I was inspired to shoot some little cakes in the light. Natural light is a must for my food photos, I don’t have nice enough lights to shoot with without it. I recently went home for Mother’s Day with a lemon poppy-seed bundt cake under one arm and it went down a treat, so I decided to make it again with a few more tweaks and got these babies:DSC_0880

I think lemon is my favourite flavour for any cake, mostly because it is so light and tangy, and not overly sweet. Stodgy cake is perfect for the winter but now that it’s warming up, I want some light, bite-sized little cakes. These weigh barely anything as they’re so fluffy!DSC_0893

Having worked with delicious magazine and tasted/seen them at work with their recipe development, they are always a go to for classic recipes. I took inspiration for these from this recipe. Here’s how I made these:

Ingredients:
For the cakes:
175g baking spread
175g caster sugar
3 eggs
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
zest of one lemon
juice of half a lemon
250g self-raising flour
4 tbsp greek yoghurt
10g poppyseeds
1 tsp lemon extract
pinch salt

For the glaze: 
juice of half a lemon
100-150g icing sugar
(1 tbsp water, if too dry)

Directions:
Preheat your oven to gas mark 4/180°C/350°F. Grease and line a round cake tin/bundt/muffin pan with butter and a dusting of flour or baking parchment.

Cream the butter, lemon zest, extract, salt and sugar together. Add in one egg and 100g flour and mix again. Fold in the second egg, 100g flour and bicarb of soda. Add in the last egg and 50g flour and beat well. Add the yoghurt and poppyseeds and spoon into your greased and floured cake tin.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until it springs to the touch and a skewer comes out clean.

Make the glaze icing, adjusting with icing sugar or water/lemon juice until you reach your desired consistency. Be sparing with the liquid and mix as you go, using 1tbsp juice at a time.

Once baked, cool in the pan for 5 minutes before turning out and cooling it on a drying rack.

Drizzle on your icing and eat!DSC_0888If you are looking for something for afternoon tea or to gift to friends, these are it! I got my mini bundt pan from TK Maxx, but it’s originally from Nordic Ware. They are expensive but the quality is amazing and you can usually find them cheaper in homeware places. If you wanted to go the extra mile with these, I’d definitely recommend making a lemon sugar syrup to drizzle on top!DSC_0885

Until next time, keep baking!

Love Sian xxx

 

Leave a Reply

