*Filipino inspired* Ube Yam Cheesecake

Hello. How is it already February? My last post in January seems like it was eons ago. After a mini hiatus after a lot of Christmas baking, I’m back with a new kinda flavour that I’ve only had a handful of times, mostly in Korea. It’s a hard flavour to find, but thankfully the internet is a wonderful thing at helping me find it in my small British town in Kent.

Ube yams are these beautiful bright purple sweet potatoes, but a little less starchy and more vanilla-y and sweeter. They work amazingly in this cakey cheesecake because of it, because the tartness of the cream cheese really sets off the flavour. dsc_0849I baked a ube cake base instead of using a buttery biscuit base as I wanted to test out my new German bundt pan from my lovely boyfriend. I haven’t baked a cake for a while as I mostly bake bars like brownies or cookies in a square pan, so it seemed like the perfect opportunity! It originally started out as a bog standard ube cake, but then things migrated and I fell in love with the shade of purple I’d achieved with my cheesecake swirl so it became a two layered cake.dsc_0851 The reason I’ve been so intent on doing a Filipino dessert is because my job as a brand ambassador for STA Travel has had it as our promotional destination of the month. (Check it out here, the flight deals are seriously cheap) I’ve always wanted to go to the Philippines but I actually didn’t know all that much about the culture or cuisine! I learnt a lot of new things about their cooking and their baked goods, and definitely want to try them in the future. It’s a strange combo to have a chiffon cake topped with cheddar, but seeing as it’s quite popular, maybe its worth a shout? Anyway, here’s my recipe:

Ingredients:
For the cake:
115g butter
260g ube jam
1 tsp vanilla extract
75g sugar
10g lucuma powder (optional, for more sweetness)
150g plain flour
pinch salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
150g coconut yoghurt

For the cheesecake swirl:
200g full fat cream cheese
50g ube jam
50g caster sugar
1 egg
1 tbsp plain flour
purple gel food colouring, to desired colour
red gel food colouring (optional, for a pinker shade of purple)

Directions:
Preheat your oven to gas mark 4/180°C/350°F. Grease and line a round cake tin or bundt with butter and a dusting of flour or baking parchment.

Cream the butter, vanilla, salt and sugar together. Add in the ube jam and lucuma powder and mix again. Fold in the eggs, flour and baking powder and sodas. Colour the batter to your taste. Fold in the yoghurt and pour into your greased and floured cake tin.

To make the cheesecake swirl, beat the cream cheese, egg, ube jam, flour, sugar and food colouring together. Make indents into the cake batter and pour the cheesecake mix over. Take a knife and swirl the batter through, getting the cheesecake into the cake batter by using some upward folds as well as swirling it through.

Bake for 45-60 mins, or until just cooked. The middle should be just set, but not completely done.

Leave to cool and refrigerate. Top with cream cheese icing or a glaze of choice and serve!

photo-17-02-2017-15-17-36-1

I topped my cake with some ube cream cheese frosting, blueberries and teeny mini eggs, because they were cute and suited the colour scheme. They actually worked with the textures and flavours of the cake, surprisingly. Blueberries would definitely work with this batter if you fancied playing with the flavour more or adding mix ins to the cake! Just beware about adding moisture as this is quite a dense, moist cake already. Dried fruit might work better than fresh.

Until next time, keep baking!

Love Sian xxx

Leave a Reply

