Dark Chocolate and Matcha Cookies

This is going to be a super short post today, as I’m working as an intern for a major publishing company, whilst trying to move out for university and sorting out my stuff because my parents are also moving house, so my life is super busy and I am going to precede to climb my jet-lagged body into bed in a minute! I’ve just gotten back to England from South Korea, and I still can’t quite believe my last trip of 2016 is done. Korea is the most amazing place, especially for the FOOD, and I have eaten so much incredible, but healthy, food for the last two weeks! I stockpiled on a lot of Korean products while I was out there, buying lots of cosmetics, food items and MATCHA POWDER. I’ve always scoffed at the price of it here in the UK but I found some great stuff for a total bargain in the supermarket in Suwon, and I top everything with it at the moment, especially my oats!

2016-09-09-07-59-29-3

 

I was lucky to be able to travel around a lot of Korea, seeing Jeonju, Jeju Island, Suwon and Seoul. Seoul is one of my favourite cities and is just so efficient and full of things to do, and eat. I don’t feel like I even made a dent in the city, despite going there almost every day of my trip. I was also really lucky to be able to see all my family that I haven’t seen for 15 years for Chuseok, Korean thanksgiving, and the spread of food was incredible. I didn’t put on any weight over there though, as we were hiking, running and walking almost every day, even climbing a mountain on the penultimate day there!

DSC_0308.jpgbukhansan

Most Korean households actually don’t have an oven – I know, WHAT?! – so I didn’t get to do any whilst I was out there, so when I got back I was itching to bake. I had some 85% dark chocolate, flour, icing sugar, some random buttery spread in the fridge, and this matcha, so I shuffled together some shortbread that tasted strongly enough of matcha to flavour it, but not so much that it was overpowering or bitter. They are just crisp enough for a good snap, but crumbly and melt in the mouth and oh so DELICIOUS. Drizzle over, or dip those biscuits into some rich, bitter, dark chocolate and BAM, you have a sensation of a biscuit in your mouth. Make these, and the look of the green biscuits alone will get people talking!

dsc_0341

I took inspiration from this recipe from Oh Sweet Day, halving it and adding a teeny bit more matcha in there. Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:
1 cup plain flour
2 tbsp matcha powder
1/4 tsp salt
113g butter/baking spread
1/4 cup icing sugar
50-75g dark chocolate

Directions:
Preheat your oven to gas mark 4/180°C/350°F. Line a baking tray with parchment or foil.

Cream the butter and icing sugar together, before folding in the flour, salt and matcha. Roll the mixture into a thin log and refrigerate, before slicing with a sharp knife into rounds.

Bake the cookies for 15-20 minutes, making sure they are cooked all the way through. Melt your dark chocolate in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds. Add one unmelted square of dark chocolate into the melted mix and stir until it has melted, to mildly temper the chocolate.

Dip or drizzle the cookies in the chocolate and allow to set. Then, serve, and enjoy! These are best eaten with a big mug of tea or coffee, and I like them for my midmorning treat!

dsc_0364

I hope you enjoy these cookies! If you aren’t used to the taste of matcha then you can switch it out for some vanilla or leave them as plain if you like. I guarantee that the cookies are a crowd pleaser and absolutely delicious, however you flavour them! Adding cinnamon and reducing the matcha really compliments the chocolate and gives it a more autumnal taste, which, for this chilly weather, is lovely!

Until next time, keep baking!

Love Sian xxx

Leave a Reply

