Double chocolate chip half and half cookies with protein cookie dough dip (dairy-free)

September is a busy month for me. I am not stopping at all this month, and pushing back moving into my university home by 2 weeks because of exciting career opportunities! It means that I am missing Freshers week and my first week of classes, which my inner nerd is secretly hating and worried about, but we all know that the first week is a little more chilled out and about the introductions than the content. Plus, with my impending graduation in 10 months, the clock is ticking to get my CV in shape, and so work experience is a MUST. So while August is calm and warm and chilled out, I cooked up this triple cookie dough recipe for you all, a mixture of healthy and unhealthy, with all the chocolate chips in the world. All. Of. Them.

DSC_0168[1]I started with these dairy free cookies because I was in a weird mood and wanting both types of cookies at the same time. Of course, to keep my summer body in check (okay fine, my attempt at a summer body) I had to limit myself to one cookie, so I smooshed a tablespoon of each together and voila, the most gorgeous cookie you ever saw. Half is a buttery vanilla cookie, chewy and gooey and dense, the other is a cakier but fudgy brownie like cookie where you can’t pick out the chocolate chips from the dark cocoa chocolatey batter. It’s like night and day in a cookie. Ying and Yang. Black and Yellow. Good and evil. Except cookies are nothing but heavenly, so of course there is no evil in these….

DSC_0180[1]DSC_0182[1]The next day I was making up a flex bowl and craving some healthy high volume cookie dough to go along with these babies. Maybe to sandwich them together. Or to dip them in. Or BOTH? Yes. Both. So that’s what I did. I snapped this baby in half, sandwiched it with healthy chickpea cookie dough dip, and ATE IT ALL. I felt like I’d just created the edible skeleton key to heaven. Especially as the dip wasn’t very sweet, but full of dark cocoa, so it offset the richness of the baked cookies. It was a perfect moment, and it would be selfish of me to keep such a moment to myself. I felt like you guys needed to know. YOU NEED TO KNOW.

DSC_0174[1]DSC_0175[1]

I took inspiration from Tally Rye’s chickpea cookie dough recipe and Truffles and Trends’ no butter chocolate chip cookies, but tweaked both as I went along to how they worked for me. Here’s how I made them:

Makes 16 large cookies + 1 medium bowl of dip

Ingredients:
For the cookies:
3/4 cup oil (coconut works best but any unflavoured oil works)
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk/1/2 egg white
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups plain flour
2-3 tsp cornstarch (opt for 3 if using normal oil)
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/4 tsp salt
200g chopped dark chocolate
3-4 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

For the dip:
230g tinned chickpeas, drained
1/3 cup almond milk (any milk of choice here)
2 tbsp cocoa
1 tbsp peanut butter
1-2 tbsp sweetener (I used a sugar free syrup)
1-2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
pinch salt
100g chocolate chips
1 1/2-2 scoops chocolate protein (I used a vegan one but casein works best)

Directions: 
For the cookies:

Preheat your oven to gas mark 4/180°C/350°F. Line a baking tray with parchment or foil.

Mix the oil, sugars and vanilla in a bowl. Add one egg (not the extra yolk or white yet), the cornstarch, salt and bicarbonate of soda and mix again until combined. Add in the flour and chocolate chips.

Divide the dough into two bowls. Add the cocoa powder and the extra egg yolk or half egg white (I have egg whites in a carton so I used that). Mix well. If the batters are a little oily, add a little more cornstarch or flour.

Using a melon baller or tablespoon measure, spoon a tablespoon of the normal cookie dough and double chocolate dough onto sheets. Smoosh the two doughs together and flatten slightly, though these will spread in the oven so don’t flatten too much!

Bake for 10 minutes, the cookies should be only just done, but they will set up whilst they cool. These cookies taste best after a day, I find, but also are delicious still slightly gooey from the oven!

For the dip:

In a food processor, blitz the almond milk and chickpeas to a paste. Add in the rest of the ingredients except the chocolate chips and blitz again. If the mixture is too thick, add more milk, too thin, add some flour or protein powder, though be careful with adding too much protein powder especially.

Fold in the chocolate chips and scoop into a bowl. Top with toppings of your choice, stick between biscuits or dip fruit or cookies in!

Enjoy!

DSC_0185[1]DSC_0188[1]

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! If you aren’t used to the taste of protein then the dip might taste strange to you, but I guarantee that the cookies are a crowd pleaser and absolutely delicious! Adding cinnamon to both these recipes really compliments the chocolate and gives it a more autumnal taste, which I loooove.

Until next time,

Love Sian xxx

Leave a Reply

