Stars, Stripes and Hiatus Cookies

So this is awkward… it’s been a while. Want some apology cookies?

DSC_0771

I have an explanation. Many stories. A different ‘me’ to present. I’m a changed woman. And cookie queen.

Well if you’ve followed me at all, you’ll know I went to America! Turns out baking in dorms was a difficult affair. Not because I didn’t have a kitchen per se, but because I had nothing to bake with! Baking stuff is expensiiiive. Especially when you don’t have a car to drive to places with good deals on bakeware. Wal-Mart was far away. Target was the closest and it hoovered up so much of my money from cute stationery and clothes that bakeware was kinda out of the question. Especially because I couldn’t take it home. Makes spending $10 on a cake tin seem kinda pointless right? So all I had was a baking tray that I ‘borrowed’ from my roommate. And I baked cookies. So. Many. Cookies. You could say I’ve nailed the recipe, the technique, the eating. ESPECIALLY the eating. Let’s not forget that one. nom.

DSC_0796

But me, like an idiot, forgot my camera charger. And lenses. Plus I had nowhere really to photograph. My countertop was grubby and marked, a cream the colour of sour milk, despite the many times we cleaned it. I owned one plate, one bowl, one mug. Two spoons, a knife, a fork. None of which were particularly pretty. I tried to photograph a little, but it sucked. It reaaaallly sucked. Plus, once classes got into full swing, I had little time to myself! I would wake up at 8, head to 9am classes, finish at 5:30, train martial arts from 5:30-8, come home, eat, do the mountain of homework I’d been set, and sleep. On weekends, I might fit in an adventure or two. I went hiking a few times:

11056618_10154323882724392_686220248208024344_o

I hit up Toronto, Los Angeles, Santa Monica:

 

 

I took a roadtrip down to Tennessee and Kentucky with my ‘families’ (my dad came over from England and my roommate’s family adopted me into theirs):

Then I rounded off my year abroad in Montreal for my final week, the first week of May. So yes, it has been VERY busy. Have you forgiven me yet?

No? Fine, I guess I will have to bombard you with more cookies. And give you the recipe. Maybe we can sit down with a cup of tea and a cookie and I can regale some stories to you.

DSC_0784

Oh, you just came for the cookies? I see how it is.

Weeeeell, I guess I’ll give you the recipe, seeing as you got this far.

Adapted from BBC Good Food

Ingredients:
150g softened butter
80g soft brown sugar (I use dark)
80g caster sugar
1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
1 egg
225g plain flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda/baking soda
pinch salt
1 bag mini eggs
2 tubes smarties
1 bag giant chocolate buttons, chopped

Directions:
Preheat your oven to Gas mark 4/180°C/350°F

Firstly, cream together the butter, vanilla and sugars until smooth. Be sure to break up any lumps of brown sugar especially.

Add the egg, salt and bicarbonate of soda and beat in. Gradually add in the flour a bit at a time, beating with each mix. Before you finish adding the last of your flour, add in your chocolate chips/smarties etc. (I saved some smarties to put on top of the cookies)

Using an ice cream scoop/a table spoon, spoon the mixture onto lined baking trays. Stick your smarties on the top and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until golden brown. The middle should still be soft and light brown when you take it out, it is better to underbake slightly than overbake!

Cool, (or not) and enjoy! Store in a tin/airtight container for 3-4 days.

 

 

I had mine with Pukka Vanilla Chai because it’s my favourite tea, but it would go well with any cinnamonny tea/black tea. Why not add in some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves to make these a little spicy? Or thow in some dried fruit like cherries and dark chocolate to make them black forest themed? This recipe is so versatile, play around with your add ins!

Until next time, keep baking (and eating)!

Love Sian xxx

4 thoughts on “Stars, Stripes and Hiatus Cookies

  1. ConnorSits says:

    They look so goood! You should definitely try the Orange curd cake that Nadiya made for the Queen. Next Friday evening would be a good time to bake that actually. I hear cakes rise well on Fridays 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

