Low Fat Banana Bread with gooey Nutella centre

A lot of things are going on in my life at the moment. My end of year exams have now finished *phew* and I am working and exercising more than ever! I’ve also been busy sorting out visas for the US, and making plans for my impending 20th birthday. Basically, my life is being turned upside down as a lot of things come to a close, and new opportunities arise. I still can’t quite believe that I’m going to spend my third year studying in America!

Baking has always been my method of destressing. It gives me a sense of satisfaction and calms me down, and licking the bowl at the end is definitely the best part. I love baking in my dad’s kitchen at home especially, because he has a beautiful shiny new kitchen, with gorgeous black granite worktops and diffused natural light. Just look! I don’t even need to edit my photos at all, the lighting does it all for me.

Low fat cinnamon banana breadAlso, my dad’s kitchen has the best Neff oven ever. My oven at uni loves to burn everything put in it, while leaving the centre of the cake raw, while this oven makes baking so easy and even more stress free because I can leave it to bake for an hour and not have to worry. 🙂 So when I saw we had a bunch of bananas which were almost black, I knew a banana bread was in order!
Nutella banana bread

I took my inspiration from BBC Good Food but I wanted to jazz it up a bit. I mean, what is banana bread without a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to spice it up? The spices just compliment the banana flavour perfectly! And the nutella centre? To. Die. For. I dolloped it all through the centre of the batter and it really complimented the moist texture of the bread, while holding its shape well and not deteriorating into the batter. It’s optional of course, but I would highly recommend!

Nutella banana bread

How could you not add Nutella? 😛

Ingredients:
150g Caster Sugar (feel free to sub out 50g with honey/maple syrup)
50g baking spread such as Stork
2 eggs
3 very ripe mashed bananas (if you have unripe bananas put them in the oven while it preheats and they will ripen quickly)
125g plain flour
75g plain wholemeal flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 handful raisins or dried fruit (I soaked mine in a fruit tea for 30 minutes)
1tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp mixed spice
5-6 tbsp Nutella

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 180˚C/gas mark 4
Cream the baking spread and sugar/sweetener together.

Beat in the eggs and mashed banana to the mix. It will look curdled, but don’t worry. Fold in the flour, raisins, spices. bicarb and baking powder. The batter will be thin but should be thick enough to hold the nutella and the raisins. If it is too thin, add a little bit more flour, too thick, add a few tbsps water.

Pour 3/4 of the batter into a lined loaf tin. Dollop the Nutella along the centre of the tin before covering with the remainder of the batter. I sprinkled oats and seeds on the top before baking for 1 hour 15 minutes. I would recommend checking on the loaf after 45 minutes with a skewer as baking times can vary between ovens.

Cool completely before slicing and enjoy!

Nutella centre banana breadP.S. To make your loaf extra sticky and moist, drizzle runny honey on top while it is still warm. It soaks into the bread like a syrup and just makes the loaf taste even better!
Honey glazed banana loafThis loaf might take a while to bake, but it is so so worth it, I really hope you try it for yourself.

Until next time, keep baking,
Love Sian xxx

3 thoughts on “Low Fat Banana Bread with gooey Nutella centre

Leave a Reply

