The 1,1,1,1 cup coconut creation (Vegan, Dairy free)

Um, hi. I know it’s been too long since I last posted anything here but with my hectic christmas baking and non stop working to pay the rent, time has been a little more precious than usual. I think we all know the feeling of collapsing into bed after being run off our feet all day. I neglected the gym (which is my life’s staple apart from baking), I ate far too much chocolate and food, and I lazed around. If I give you cake as an apology, do you think you have it in your hearts to forgive me? Please? I’ll give you a nice big slice πŸ˜›

Lemon and coconut loaf

Check out that gorgeously fluffy and moist crumb πŸ™‚

I decided to kick myself back into baking by volunteering to write a recipe article in the University newpaper InQuire. I wanted a simple recipe. Something you could bake with a loaf pan from poundland and a drinking mug for measuring. And so here I present to you the miracle of the 4 ingredient 1,1,1,1 cake. I found its basis in the depths of the internet months ago, but it has resurfaced! I often forget how most people, students especially, don’t really own baking equipment, or scales, so I think a mug to measure and 4 ingredients is simplicity at its best!

Lemon and coconut loaf

Truth be told, I did actually have a Bailey’s chocolate yule log recipe photographed and ready for you. But that Yule log ended up causing me more grief than pleasure as it never really met the intended recipient or eating appreciation I think it deserved. C’est la vie, I’ll push that yule log to the back of my mind now and get on with a fresh new cake for a fresh new year πŸ™‚

4 ingredient coconut loafFor those of you who hate coconut, I’m afraid there’s not really an alternative for it. I’ve tried it with ground almonds and oats but it was a weird, dry and gummy texture. I often add cocoa powder to this loaf and ice it with a chocolate ganache to appeal to my chocolate loving housemates, as they don’t mind the coconut so much this way. But I’m a Bounty chocolate bar lover, so this loaf is basically that but in cake form! Okay fine, I’ll get on with the recipe now, and quit the rambling…

Ingredients:
1 cup dessicated coconut
1 cup caster sugar
1 cup self-raising flour
1 cup milk (I use coconut milk here)
Optional additions:
Β½ cup cocoa powder for a chocolate loaf
Chocolate chips
Roughly chopped nuts
1 tsp cinnamon
Zest of 1 lemon
1 tsp vanilla extract
Nutella
Basically get creative with what’s in your cupboards!

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 180˚C
Mix all the ingredients in one bowl and pour into a greased and floured tin.

For a loaf: bake for 50 minutes – 1 hour, (cover with foil if browning too quickly.)
For cupcakes: bake for 25 – 35 minutes
For a round cake: bake for 30 minutes
Or until a knife in the centre comes out clean.

Easy!

I just drizzled a cheeky lemon glaze on top and sprinkled more coconut:

Lemon glaze

Kinda sexy, right?

Lemon glaze: 1 tbsp lemon juice & ΒΌ cup icing sugar mixed til desired consitency.

This cake is easy to whip up if friends are coming round, or if you have a last minute get together to bring food to. I hope you guys enjoy this cake as much as I do!

Til next time, (I’ll try to be more consistent this year)

Keep Baking,
Love Sian xxx

5 thoughts on “The 1,1,1,1 cup coconut creation (Vegan, Dairy free)

Leave a Reply

