Rising from the dead with Red Velvet Brownies

If you’re wondering why I’ve been so quiet, I have my excuses! It’s been a busy past few months, involving full time working, holidays abroad and moving house to start my second year of uni. The workload is double the amount of last year, and to make things worse, my oven in my new house seems to enjoy burning everything put in it in the space of 5 minutes. After constant juggling around with it and keeping a beady eye on my baked goods (involving me sitting next to the oven on a chair just watching it bake) I have finally cracked it and managed to produce something that doesn’t taste burnt!

Red velvet browniesI had some red velvet cookie dough leftover from making Cooking Classy’s red velvet crinkle cookies a few days before (they were slightly burnt but tasty) and a box of my housemate’s Betty Crocker brownie mix sitting around which he had been begging me to bake up, so I quickly whipped these guys up in half an hour! I pressed the cookie dough into the base of my square tin, and then smoothed the brownie mix on top, praying that both would cook in the same amount of time. And I hit the jackpot, these didn’t burn, didn’t overcook, and were wondrously fudgy and crumbly all in one bite. I ate a few squares before work and came back to none left because living with 3 boys means that all food is hoovered up immediately, with their bottomless pits of stomachs! 😛

Red velvet brownies

I am not usually a fan of packet mix, and I admit that these would have tasted better with my own brownie recipe, but I admit that packet mixes are convenient for when you don’t have much time to bake. Also, with Halloween coming up, these are a perfect treat to serve up to friends and family at a party!

Ingredients:
Red Velvet Layer:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2-3 tbsp cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg/2 small ones
  • 1 tsp milk or buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste or vanilla
  • 5 tsp red food coloring (I used food gel as its more concentrated)

Brownie Layer:

  • 1 box of brownie packet mix
    OR
    Whip up your favourite brownie recipe instead (for a 9×9 square pan)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees, or gas mark 4. Line and grease a 9×9 square pan.

For the red velvet layer, cream the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy before gradually adding and mixing in the eggs and food colouring before folding in the dry ingredients. You can optionally stir in some white chocolate chips here.

Refrigerate the dough for an hour until firm enough to handle or freeze for 20 minutes.

Make up the brownie mix according to the packet instructions/ to your recipe.

Take the red velvet mix and press it into the bottom of the tin, making sure it is evenly distributed. Now smooth the brownie mix evenly on top (as it won’t spread too much) and bake for 25-35 minutes, keeping an eye on it (especially if you have an awful oven like mine!)

Red velvet brownies

A skewer poked into the middle of the brownie should come out almost clean, as it means its still slightly fudgy. Let it cool for 15-20 minutes (It’s hard I know) and cut into 16 squares.

Red velvet brownies

Either share with friends or eat them all yourself, enjoy!

Keep baking,

Love Sian xxx

4 thoughts on “Rising from the dead with Red Velvet Brownies

Leave a Reply

