Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownies (Dairy-free and Gluten-Free)

Summer is upon us, and eating a full fat brownie carries too much guilt to justify eating more than 1. Also, I have moved back in with my parents and there is no flour or proper chocolate in the house, but I had a craving to bake proper CAKE. Brownies were the perfect solution! After dredging the internet for a flourless recipe that doesnt need proper chocolate, I found the perfect one, a blondie version with peanut butter as the base. Peanut butter is one of the most divine spreads (bar nutella of course) so I was hooked by the original recipe from Ambitious Kitchen! 

They are so fudgy and the crunchy peanut butter litters the batter with chopped peanuts too, which I love. I was naughty and swirled some nutella into the batter once it was in the pan, and it created a gorgeous crust, while the hazelnut flavour really compliments the peanut butter!

Flourless Peanut butter browniesBeing back from university means I have so much free time, that I don’t even know what to do with myself. I have been back for a week and I have already read 2 books and am on my third and I have been up to Leamington Spa to visit friends and back so I have been a busy bee! I’m actually eager to get my job back so that I won’t spend so much time bored out of my mind, believe it or not, as well as the fact that I am almost broke from uni. I miss Canterbury quite a lot already, and the fact that my friends back home are not around the corner like they are at university pains me all the more. It’s a hard life huh? 😛

So of course I turn to baking to fill my time (although I may have to throw the batch away as everyone in my house is on a diet!) and I had some fun messing around with adding little things here and there to jazz it up a bit. Theres something about the fudginess of a brownie that tops it compared to a blondie everytime.

Flourless Peanut butter browniesI am not in a chatty mood today, because I have been such a shut in the past few days, so I will cut to the chase 🙂

Ingredients:
1 cup Peanut Butter
1 egg
1/3 cup honey, agave or maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup cocoa powder
Pinch salt
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup nutella (omit for dairy free brownies)
Optional: 2 tbsp strong coffee (I used a maple flavoured coffee to compliment the maple syrup, but you don’t taste coffee in the brownies!)
1 tbsp golden syrup
1 banana, mashed

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 180C. Grease and line an 8×8 square tin.

Whisk together the egg, peanut butter, sweetner of choice, vanilla, coffee and nutella. When the mixture is smooth, fold in all the dry ingredients. Pour the mixture into the greased pan, swirl in nutella if you wish, and bake for 10-15 minutes.

Cut up the brownies into 16 squares and enjoy!

Flourless Peanut butter browniesThese aren’t quite as good as my signature indulgent brownies, but for a healthier version they aren’t half bad! The recipe is a good one to just add in whatever you fancy, so more chopped nuts, or chocolate chips or caramel wouldn’t hurt (although it would ramp up the calories!) Compared to the normal calorie count of 400-500 calories per brownie, this one is only around 200-300, so its a definite improvement. I hope you guys give these a try and enjoy them as much as I did!

Keep Baking!

Love Sian xxx

 

4 thoughts on “Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownies (Dairy-free and Gluten-Free)

    • I’m glad you like it! ❤ A little bit of coffee is a great addition to most chocolate cake recipes, you don’t get the coffee flavour, but it intensifies the chocolate 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

