The Classic Victoria Sponge with a TWIST (literally)

I often make very creative cakes for friend’s and family’s birthdays, and my little sister’s was no exception. She requested a simple victoria sponge so that she would be able to stuff her face with more cake and not feel sick – Classic sister – and I was wracking my brain for a more creative way to present the cake than the generic icing sugar dusting and two stacked cakes with cream and jam oozing out. And then my idea hit me, literally, in the form of my new bundt tin being delivered the morning of my cake baking crisis!

My epiphany: Why not make a normal vanilla sponge in my bundt tin, fill it with buttercream and jam and drizzle jam on top? I had no time to try out with different pound cake or bundt cake recipes, so I just made the sponge cake and hoped for the best. Thankfully, it was a huge success, and everything went to plan.

Victoria sponge bundt cake

Looking at this makes me so hungry..

I then had a great amount of fun going crazy with my DSLR to get the perfect shot to show my friends, or rather to make them a teeny bit jealous.

Victoria Sponge with a twist

A bird’s eye view. Gorgeous, right??

I made this in my 24cm silicone bundt pan (when it comes to bundt pans, silicone makes your life so much easier, trust me!) So here is my very simple recipe for the cake:

Ingredients:
150g Butter/Margarine
150g Caster Sugar
150g Self Raising Flour
3 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 tsp Baking Powder

For the Buttercream:
75g Butter
175g Icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1-2 tsp milk (adjust to if the mixture needs loosening to make spreadable)

4-10 tbsp seedless raspberry jam

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 180 C or Gas Mark 4. Lightly grease your bundt tin with some cooking spray or butter.

Cream together the butter and sugar til light and fluffy. Then add in your eggs, flour, vanilla and baking powder and stir gently until combined.

Pour into the bundt tin and bake for 20-30 minutes until an inserted skewer comes out clean and the cake is golden brown on top.

Leave to cool for 5 minutes before turning the cake out gently and allowing it to cool completely on a cooling rack.

Make the buttercream by whisking the butter until it is soft and fluffy, before sifting in your icing sugar a bit at a time to avoid clouds of icing sugar going everywhere.

Using a serrated knife, cut the bundt cake horizontally across, trying to keep it at the ridge around the cake. Spread your buttercream and a light layer of jam across one side of the cake, and put the two layers together. Make sure that you do not overfill, as the object of this cake is not to see the oozing buttercream and jam from the layers.

Then in a small bowl or ramekin, heat up 4 tbsp of jam (or more, depending how much you use) in the microwave for about 10-20 seconds. Following the ridges of the cake, use a teaspoon to drizzle the jam down the cake. You may need to heat up the jam a little more if it is not runny enough to do this. Make sure the jam drizzle is not too thinly drizzled, otherwise it will not have the bold red stripes along the cake.

And lastly, enjoy! This is a gorgeous cake, I personally ate mine at a lovely restaurant beside the sunny beach with friends and family.

Birthday cake with candles

Happy Birthday, little sis!

Keep baking!

Love Sian xxx

 

8 thoughts on “The Classic Victoria Sponge with a TWIST (literally)

  1. Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

